This blog is about how to stop Facebook from tracking your browsing activity, when you search for something on the internet and then you open Facebook you will see the ad for the product which you have searched for. Because Facebook is tracking your browsing activity like which site you are visiting and much you are spending on it. Facebook was recently under fire for having access to a lot of user data than it really needs for basic functioning.
Facebook introduced a privacy feature last year, it’s called Off-Facebook Activity. This feature lets you see and control data that apps and websites share with Facebook and also monitors the kind of information third-party apps can access. And you can stop Facebook from tracking your internet activity. If you have this feature activated, then you can clear the history of apps and websites that have shared your data. And you stop a particular website which you want to stop from sharing your activity and the platform will stop showing you those ads in particular. We will show how you can stop Facebook from tracking your browsing activity.
Way to stop Facebook from tracking your browsing activity
We all are uncomfortable with this tracking, especially since it occurs when you’re not on Facebook, you can use the Off-Facebook Activity tool to manage this information and stop Facebook from tracking your internet activity.
-Access this feature by clicking the down arrow in the top right and selecting Settings. Select Your Facebook Information and click the option for Off-Facebook
Facebook will display the names of sites that have shared your activity and informs you how it gets access to this kind of information. To get more details about your overall off-Facebook activity by clicking the “Learn More” link at the top or you can click on the website.
Click the icon for any site in the list, You will see all the sites that have provided information on your activity to Facebook. Click a site to view particular details about it.
The first drop-down menu will tell you how the site was sent the data to Facebook. The second drop-down menu lists examples of interactions with other sites, such as opening an app, visiting a website, searching for an item, or purchasing an item.
If you don’t want the site to share your activity with Facebook, click the Turn off future activity link. A message tells you that future activity from this site has been turned off, but keep in mind that your past activity has not been disconnected.
How to manage future and past activity
You can manage both activities from the Off-Facebook Activity screen by clicking Manage Future Activity. then click Manage Future Activity to take control.
You can view the activity that has already been turned off. You can also turn off all future activity by turning off the switch next to Future Off-Facebook Activity.
You can also remove your entire off-Facebook activity history. On the main activity page. Click the Clear History button at the top and then select Clear History. These steps will stop Facebook from tracking your browsing activity.
What happens when you stop facebook from tracking your browsing activity
When stopping Facebook from tracking your browsing activity, Facebook will remove all your identifying information that the websites and apps share. And Facebook will no longer know what website you’re visiting. The most important thing you are not going to see any ads from those sites.
If you are on iOS and other Apple devices, you can opt-out of being tracked by apps and websites like Facebook. The new App Tracking Transparency feature came in with iOS 14.5. This will stop all of these apps from being able to track you and send your information forward to other companies that use this data to show you targeted ads. Android will get the same feature soon so you will be able to opt-out on your Android devices as well.
Also read- How to watch blocked youtube videos